Team

Micaela Schork, LL.M.

schork@tigges.legal

Zollhof 8
40221 Düsseldorf
T: +49 211 8687-134
F: +49 211 8687-230

Micaela Schork, LL.M.

Area of Specialisation

Micaela Schork, LL.M. is partner at TIGGES Rechtsanwälte. She works in the field of intellectual property law with a special focus on trademark, design and licensing law and represents German and international companies in national and multi-national application procedures and infringement lawsuits. Her counselling work in terms of trademark law also includes strategical questions concerning the establishment, defence and management of national and international trademark portfolios.Her practice also includes domain law, advertising and competition law as well as copyright and media law.

A further focus of her work lies in the area of Internet law, the law of information technology and data protection. Ms. Schork advises providers and users of software and hardware and innovative IT services on national and international projects, in particular on legal issues relating to licensing, distribution, software development (including agile methods), cloud computing and software-as-a-service as well as open source software. Ms. Schork advises on issues relating to new business models in the area of Internet of Things and Industry 4.0. Ms. Schork represents companies in out-of-court and court proceedings before ordinary courts as well as in arbitration and alternative dispute resolution proceedings.

Best Lawyers® in cooperation with Handelsblatt lists Micaela Schork as a leading lawyer in the field of Intellectual Property in the ranking "Germany Best Lawyers 2023".

  • Other Fields of Activity

    Micaela Schork is a member of the European Community Trademark Association (ECTA), where she chaired the Membership & Disciplinary Committee for many years. Since 2020, she has been on the board of the Internet Committee, which deals with issues relating to the legal and regulatory development of domain law and trade mark law on the Internet.
    She is also a member of the International Trademark Association (INTA), where she was a committee member of the Internet Committee for several years, and the International Association for the Protection of Intellectual Property (AIPPI).

    Micaela Schork was an adjunct lecturer at the EBC University of Applied Sciences Düsseldorf in the Business Law programme from 2014 to 2021 and is an adjunct lecturer of the Trade Mark and Design Education Programme (ETMD EP) of the European Union Intellectual Property Office (EUIPO).

    She holds further memberships with the German Association for the Protection of Intellectual Property (GRUR), the German Association of Women Lawyers (DJB) and the Marketing Club Düsseldorf e.V..

    Ms Schork regularly gives expert lectures on intellectual property issues and publishes in international journals.

  • CV

    Micaela Schork studied law in Freiburg i. Br. and at the Universidad de Salamanca in Spain. She acquired the title "Master of Laws" (LL.M.) in the field of private international and commercial law at the University of Sydney, Australia. After her legal internship in Düsseldorf she began her legal career in a major international law firm, where she built up her professional expertise in the field of intellectual property and, since 2011, has been expanding it as a partner in an IP boutique. In 2014 Ms Schork joined TIGGES Rechtsanwälte as a partner. 

  • Languages

    English, French, Spanish, Portuguese

Team

Micaela Schork, LL.M.

schork@tigges.legal

Zollhof 8
40221 Düsseldorf
T: +49 211 8687-134
F: +49 211 8687-230

Micaela Schork, LL.M.

Beratungsschwerpunkt

Micaela Schork, LL.M. ist Partnerin bei TIGGES. Sie ist im Gewerblichen Rechtsschutz mit besonderer Spezialisierung im Marken-, Geschmacksmuster- und Lizenzrecht tätig und vertritt deutsche wie internationale Unternehmen in nationalen und multinationalen Anmelde- und Verletzungsverfahren. Ihre markenrechtliche Beratung umfasst dabei auch strategische Fragen des Aufbaus, der Verteidigung und des Managements von nationalen und internationalen Markenportfolios. Daneben umfasst ihre Tätigkeit Fragen des Domainrechts, des Werbe- und Wettbewerbsrechts sowie des Urheber- und Medienrechts.

Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt ihrer Tätigkeit liegt im Bereich des Internetrechts, des Rechts der Informationstechnologie und des Datenschutzes. Frau Schork berät Anbieter und Nutzer von Software und Hardware und innovativen IT-Leistungen bei nationalen und internationalen Projekten, dies insbesondere in Rechtsfragen der Lizenzierung, des Vertriebs, der Softwareentwicklung (auch zu agilen Methoden), des Cloud Computing und Software-as-a-Service sowie der Open Source Software. Frau Schork berät in Fragen im Zusammenhang mit neuen Geschäftsmodellen im Bereich Internet der Dinge und Industrie 4.0. Frau Schork vertritt Unternehmen dabei in außergerichtlichen sowie gerichtlichen Verfahren vor ordentlichen Gerichten, aber auch in Schieds- und alternativen Streitbeilegungsverfahren.

  • Sonstige Tätigkeitsfelder

    Micaela Schork ist Mitglied der European Community Trademark Association (ECTA), wo sie viele Jahre den Vorsitz des Membership & Disciplinary Committee hielt. Seit 2020 sitzt sie im Vorstand des Internet Committee, das sich mit Fragen der rechtlichen und regulatorischen Entwicklung des Domainrechts sowie des Markenrechts im Internet beschäftigt.
    Darüber hinaus ist sie Mitglied der International Trademark Association (INTA), wo sie einige Jahre Ausschussmitglied des Internet Committees war, und der Internationalen Vereinigung zum Schutz des geistigen Eigentums (AIPPI).

    Micaela Schork war von 2014 bis 2021 Lehrbeauftragte der EBC Hochschule Düsseldorf im Studiengang Wirtschaftsrecht und ist Lehrbeauftragte des „Trade Mark and Design Education Programme (ETMD EP) des Amtes der Europäischen Union für geistiges Eigentum (EUIPO).

    Sie hält weitere Mitgliedschaften bei der Deutschen Vereinigung für Gewerblichen Rechtsschutz und Urheberrecht (GRUR), beim Deutschen Juristinnenbund (DJB) sowie beim Marketing-Club Düsseldorf e.V.

    Frau Schork hält regelmäßig Fachvorträge zu Themen des geistigen Eigentums und veröffentlicht in internationalen Fachzeitschriften.

  • CV

    Frau Schork legte ihr Studium der Rechtswissenschaft in Freiburg i. Br. und an der Universidad de Salamanca in Spanien, ab. Den Titel des „Master of Laws (LL.M.) erwarb sie im Bereich des Internationalen Privat- und Handelsrechts an der University of Sydney, Australien. Nach ihrem Referendariat in Düsseldorf begann Frau Schork ihre anwaltliche Tätigkeit in einer internationalen Großkanzlei, bei der sie ihre fachliche Expertise auf dem Gebiet des Gewerblichen Rechtsschutzes auf- und seit dem Jahr 2011 als Partnerin in einer IP-Boutique ausbaute. 2014 schloss sich Frau Schork der Sozietät TIGGES Rechtsanwälte als Partnerin an.

  • Sprachen

    Englisch, Französisch, Spanisch, Portugiesisch
  • Veröffentlichungen

    Mitautorin in: Handbuch Marken- und Designrecht (Hrsg. Lüken/Stöckel), in: Handbuch Marken- und Designrecht (Hrsg. Lüken/Stöckel), 3. Aufl., 2013

    A comparable approach? German and EU perspectives on comparative advertising, in World Trademark Review 2012, 81

    „A solid basis for protection, in World Trademark Review 2012, 75

    „Taking it to the second level, in World Trademark Review 2012, 104

    Mitautorin in: Handbuch Marken- und Designrecht (Hrsg. Lüken/Stöckel), in in: Handbuch Marken- und Designrecht (Hrsg. Lüken/Stöckel), 2. Aufl., 2006

    Mitautorin in: Handbuch Markenrecht (Hrsg. Lüken/Stöckel), in: Handbuch Markenrecht (Hrsg. Lüken/Stöckel), 1. Aufl., 2003